Chemo Treatment #1 – Day Three

Fri Aug 10– 2012 Chemo #1 Day Three– Pump Day

Pump day two down. Had a little relief last night after using a suppository but the dam finally broke around 330am.  After all this I felt like my urethra was bruised from all the pressure. Ugh. Hope you don’t mind all the bowel talk… but hey, it’s colon cancer what did you expect?

I didn’t sleep as well last night. Woke up to go to bathroom too many times to count.

I wasn’t feeling the best this morning. I was slightly nauseated so I took a Compazine and eventually felt better.

My pump was supposed to be done by 1230 today and Emily had to be at work at noon. Her boss gave her permission to come in at 1 so she could help me get all disconnected. This backfired as pump still hadn’t beeped yet by the time she had to go to work. Luckily, my nephew Herby and his wife Liz had come to visit. They stayed around to make sure I could do the disconnect by myself. It wasn’t too bad.

  1. stop pump
  2. turn off pump
  3. clamp tubing in two places
  4. unscrew tubing from section coming out of port
  5. wipe down tube end with alcohol wipe (between each syringe)
  6. attach 10cc syringe of saline and slowly push into tube
  7. attach second syringe of saline….
  8. attach syringe of Heparin so no clots form in my port
  9. peel off tegaderm dressing off the needle module stuck in my port
  10. put pressure on area of skin around my port
  11. pull up on butterfly wings on needle and slowly and steadily pull out of port.

I was expecting a smaller needle but it was pretty good sized. The little hole it left oozed some saline a bit but other then that it wasn’t any problem.

I felt better after my company was here and was able to eat some soup. Then I took a couple of hour nap. I think I was just tired due to my sleeping issues last night.

~~ Gayla

Leave a Reply

Terry Dresbach

An 18th Century Life

Julie Yip-Williams

My cancer fighting journey

ActiveOstomates

Living an Active Life Without Limitations

SQUIRT'S BLOG

My journey with Squirt my Stoma

The Little C

One woman's journey through the world of colon cancer

amyslifeblog

A fine WordPress.com site

Adventures of Cancer Girl

a spin off of http://amyslifeblog.com/

marcdu4

Cancer and other things

Phil's Blog

Life is made up of years that mean nothing and moments that mean it all.

JillinoisRN

Disabled RN still trying to contribute something...

