Chemo Treatment #1 – Day Five

Sun Aug 12– 2012 Chemo #1 Day Five– Second Day Off

I’m feeling much better today than yesterday. I haven’t even taken a nap.  I’ve eaten more today also. Had breakfast and a tiny lunch, then ate dinner and even had a little ice cream tonight.

I took two small walks outside today; what I call the ‘small block.’ Out my door, turn left, and walk down the drive to Dublin Trail. Take Dublin Trail back to the office and up the drive again to my front door. It has to be close to a quarter mile and I did it twice today.

By this time tomorrow I should be a grandma! Induction starts in the morning. I know the kids are nervous about having me around the baby. 😦 Their doctor says there are no studies and better to err on the side of caution while my chemo nurses who deal with this on a daily basis said there is no danger. I did look up the half-life of the drugs in my body and both come out to a half-life of less than half an hour. It’s been over 48 hours since I unplugged the pump so the drugs themselves should not be in my system any more. I do know one of the things they are worried about is my health. My daughter in law may have a cold and I will need to start watching my exposure to stuff like that.

/sigh

I just want to hold my first grandbaby.

~~Gayla

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Deb Westenberger on August 13, 2012 at 12:47 am

    awwww, (((GAYLA)))!!! How wonderful that you’re going to be a grandma!! yayyyy!!
    😀 😀 Thank you for sharing your journey in your blog! I am following every word–and..FART!! 😀 Sending you love and light–Granny! Can’t wait to hear the Baby Ross “News!!” (hugs) xoxox Deb

    Reply

  2. Posted by Cyn on August 13, 2012 at 8:06 am

    Good Luck with the new baby! I can understand them being paranoid – but I think if EVERYONE is careful there should be nothing to worry about! A mask for you around Lisa and lots of hand sanitizer and everyone should be fine. ((((hugs))) /love Cyn

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Terry Dresbach

An 18th Century Life

Julie Yip-Williams

My cancer fighting journey

ActiveOstomates

Living an Active Life Without Limitations

SQUIRT'S BLOG

My journey with Squirt my Stoma

The Little C

One woman's journey through the world of colon cancer

amyslifeblog

A fine WordPress.com site

Adventures of Cancer Girl

a spin off of http://amyslifeblog.com/

marcdu4

Cancer and other things

Phil's Blog

Life is a gift; cherish every moment.

JillinoisRN

Disabled RN still trying to contribute something...

