Chemo Treatment #2 – Day Four

Sat Aug 25– 2012 Chemo #2 Day Four– First Day Off

First full day off the pump. Like last cycle, I’ve been vaguely nauseated most of the day and some constipation issues continue. I took a Compazine this morning and as long as I keep something in my stomach I’m not too bad. Ginger ale is my friend.

Today I had to get a Neulasta shot. My blood counts were low on Wed so I need the shot to help my bone marrow work harder. The good part of this is that my friend Posy came to pick me up and take me to the hospital. The weird part is that I had to actually check in to the hospital and be assigned a room on the orthopedic floor. Sitting in the room waiting for the meds to be called up from the pharmacy took 20 minutes. The shot took 20 seconds. All that and we then just leave and go home.

One tiny milestone today; I took the bandaids off of my raw spots. They have healed nicely. I wish I could say the same about my incision. The one small open spot makes me slightly ill just thinking about it and accidentally touching it in the shower really makes me ill. I see the doctor at my next chemo appointment and I’m going to ask him about it.

Today is the 6 week anniversary of my surgery.

~~Gayla

3 responses to this post.

  1. I’m hoping your Neulasta shot pain (bone pain from hell) wasn’t too horrible. :/

    Reply

  2. Posted by Deb Westenberger on August 28, 2012 at 12:41 am

    Hi Grandma–(I’m jealous)!! 🙂
    I just want to let you know I keep you in my prayers and ceremony each and every day.
    Thank you for doing this blog, Gayla. I’m following you–
    And, I live only like 10 minutes from you–down about 3 miles past Clayton School (Fairview road)–to Pioneer Road. IF and WHEN you need some help, a ride, or some company–please let me know?? My number is: 915-4154. The Sisters at Talking Circle send their healing light your way– Do you have a mailing address for snail mail?? 😀

    Reply

  3. Posted by Deb Westenberger on August 28, 2012 at 12:42 am

    oh..and that last post was from ME–Deb W. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Terry Dresbach

An 18th Century Life

Julie Yip-Williams

My cancer fighting journey

ActiveOstomates

Living an Active Life Without Limitations

SQUIRT'S BLOG

My journey with Squirt my Stoma

The Little C

One woman's journey through the world of colon cancer

amyslifeblog

A fine WordPress.com site

Adventures of Cancer Girl

a spin off of http://amyslifeblog.com/

marcdu4

Cancer and other things

Phil's Blog

Life is made up of years that mean nothing and moments that mean it all.

JillinoisRN

Disabled RN still trying to contribute something...

