Chemo Treatment #2 – Day Five

Sun Aug 26 – 2012 Chemo #2 Day Five– Second Day Off

I know, it isn’t the 26th and I didn’t post yesterday, sorry.  Yesterday I was just vegging most of the day. Didn’t feel bad but didn’t feel good. I did go out to eat with Em and we were going to go grocery shopping but after eating I just wanted to go back home. By 8:30 I was looking at the clock wondering if it was too early to just go to bed.

This morning I woke up feeling ok. I took my Colace right away and went into the living room. The pill got stuck down in my throat and started melting. Not only did it taste HORRIBLE it burned and I couldn’t get it up or down. Finally I couldn’t take it and started getting sick. Throwing up did get the pill out but my throat still burned and the taste of bile in my mouth just makes you want to throw up some more. This is the first time I actually got sick since the first day after surgery.

I couldn’t even think of trying to take a Compazine…too worried it wouldn’t go down either. A bowl of cereal helped calm my stomach and my throat.

After everything calmed down I went to my son’s house to pick up his dog to take her to the dog park.  It was getting hot but we still did the walk around the park then sat in the shade. She was content to just explore around the apple trees out of the sun. We were there for over an hour and a half then went to the dog wash because she was one stinky pup and seriously needed a bath. After I took her home and got to see the grandbaby I ended up doing my grocery shopping.

I really think I overdid it today. Just too much walking. Came home and got into my jammies and vegged.

My legs ache and I don’t know if its just a normal ache that I wouldn’t think twice about before, if it’s from all the walking I did today, or if it’s from the Neulasta. Flu like aches and pains in the bigger bones are some of the possible side-effects. It’s hard to say anymore. I think twice about every little ache and pain I feel. Is it just normal 52 year old aches, is it cancer, is it chemo, is it the Neulasta? Every normal ache, pain, or sick feeling is not “normal” anymore. There is always that voice in the back of your head making you question everything.

~~Gayla

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Denita on August 27, 2012 at 9:54 pm

    Gayla, I am so sorry you are going through this. Stay strong! I will be thinking of you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Terry Dresbach

An 18th Century Life

Julie Yip-Williams

My cancer fighting journey

ActiveOstomates

Living an Active Life Without Limitations

SQUIRT'S BLOG

My journey with Squirt my Stoma

The Little C

One woman's journey through the world of colon cancer

amyslifeblog

A fine WordPress.com site

Adventures of Cancer Girl

a spin off of http://amyslifeblog.com/

marcdu4

Cancer and other things

Phil's Blog

Life is made up of years that mean nothing and moments that mean it all.

JillinoisRN

Disabled RN still trying to contribute something...

